The Seasoned Pan

The Best Cast Iron Cornbread Pans

Wedge pans, corn-stick pans, muffin pans and the skillet you already own — compared on the only thing a shaped pan actually buys you, which is crust, and on which of them the maker will let you preheat on a burner.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Almost all the cornbread worth eating in America has been baked in a plain cast iron skillet, and our own recipe still calls for one. So start here: a dedicated cornbread pan is not an upgrade in the way a better skillet is an upgrade. It does exactly one thing a skillet cannot, and whether that thing matters to you decides the whole purchase.

That thing is crust. A skillet gives every slice one browned face on the bottom and a browned edge only if it happened to be an outside piece. A molded pan — eight wedges, seven corn sticks, six muffins — makes every portion an outside piece, with crust on three or four sides instead of one. People who buy these pans are buying the crust-to-crumb ratio, and nothing else on the box is worth reading.

So this page is organized around shape first, then around the two specifications that separate the pans within each shape: whether the maker publishes a spec sheet at all, and whether the maker rates the pan for the stovetopor only for the oven. Three of the six picks below are oven-only by the maker’s own instruction, and one of the best-known corn-stick pans in the country could not be bought on Amazon the day we checked. We have not hands-on tested these pans; here is exactly what we do instead. Prices are checked live.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on materials, size, finish and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not hands-on tested these pans — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Lodge Seasoned Cast Iron Wedge Pan (8 wells)

Lodge Seasoned Cast Iron Wedge Pan (8 wells)

The cornbread pan to buy if you are buying one. Eight molded wedges means eight portions that are crust on three sides instead of one, which is the entire reason a shaped pan exists — and it is the only shape here that still cuts and serves like the skillet cornbread people actually expect. Lodge makes it in Tennessee, seasons it, publishes its real weight, and warranties it.

Best overall
$24.90 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Lodge Seasoned Cast Iron Baker's Skillet (10.25")

Lodge Seasoned Cast Iron Baker's Skillet (10.25")

A 10.25-inch round pan built for the oven rather than the stove: same classic shape as the skillet everyone bakes cornbread in, but 1.5 lb lighter and with two loop handles instead of a long one, so it fits an oven and a table better. The pick if you want a traditional round pone and do not want a mold.

Best for a classic round pone
$24.90 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Old Mountain Pre-Seasoned 7 Impression Cornbread Pan

Old Mountain Pre-Seasoned 7 Impression Cornbread Pan

The corn-stick pan you can actually buy. Lodge's own cornstick pan was unavailable on Amazon when we checked, which leaves this as the in-stock way to get the seven ear-of-corn molds that make cornbread into dunkable sticks. It publishes a warranty, which is more than most pans at this price manage, and almost nothing else.

Best corn-stick pan
$23.23 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Lodge Seasoned Cast Iron Muffin Pan (6 wells)

Lodge Seasoned Cast Iron Muffin Pan (6 wells)

Corn muffins rather than cornbread, and the most useful pan here the rest of the year — the same six wells bake blueberry muffins, popovers, Yorkshire puddings and egg bites. Deep wells mean a softer center than a wedge pan gives you, which some people prefer and others consider the point of missing.

Best for corn muffins
$29.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Stansport Pre-Seasoned Cast Iron Wedge Pan (8 wedges)

Stansport Pre-Seasoned Cast Iron Wedge Pan (8 wedges)

The same eight-wedge idea as the Lodge for appreciably less, sold and shipped by Amazon and arriving pre-seasoned. What you give up is verification: Stansport's own website has no page for this pan, so there is no warranty, no stated origin and no maker's spec sheet to check the listing against.

Best budget wedge pan
$18.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Lodge Seasoned Cast Iron Skillet (10.25")

Lodge Seasoned Cast Iron Skillet (10.25")

The default cast iron skillet, and the right first pan for almost everyone: American-made, pre-seasoned, oven-and-campfire proof, and a fraction of the price of the boutique brands. Buy this before you spend more.

Best pan you may already own
$24.90 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Lodge Seasoned Cast Iron Wedge Pan (8 wells)

The cornbread pan to buy if you are buying one. Eight molded wedges means eight portions that are crust on three sides instead of one, which is the entire reason a shaped pan exists — and it is the only shape here that still cuts and serves like the skillet cornbread people actually expect. Lodge makes it in Tennessee, seasons it, publishes its real weight, and warranties it.

Strengths

  • Eight individual wedges, so each portion browns on three faces instead of one
  • Lodge publishes the full spec — 11.69 x 8.94 x 1.19 in and 4.86 lb — and backs it with the Made Right warranty
  • Made in South Pittsburg, Tennessee, seasoned with vegetable oil, and made without PFAS

Trade-offs

  • Lodge's own feature list says "Oven safe, not recommended for stovetop use" — you cannot preheat this pan on a burner the way you would a skillet
  • Two loop handles and no long handle, so it is a two-mitt lift every time
  • Eight fixed portions: no big wedges, no small ones, and nothing else bakes in it neatly
TypeBare cast iron
Size11.69 x 8.94 in, 8 wedge wells
Pre-seasonedYes
Induction-safeNo
Made inUSA
Best forCornbread with a crust on nearly every side of every slice

The details. Lodge's own page for part BW8WP publishes 11.69 in long x 8.94 in wide x 1.19 in high and 4.86 lb, eight wedge wells, dual handles, seasoning with 100% natural vegetable oil, nontoxic manufacture without PFAS, care of hand wash, dry, oil, the Lodge Made Right warranty, and the line that decides how you use it — "Oven safe, not recommended for stovetop use". That is why the induction row reads No: the iron is magnetic, but the maker does not want this pan over a burner. Amazon's spec table lists the weight as 1.55 lb, which cannot be true of a cast iron pan this size; Lodge's 4.86 lb is the figure we use. Lodge's own store showed $24.90 against a $29.95 regular price on September 24, 2026.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 24, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best for a classic round pone

Lodge Seasoned Cast Iron Baker's Skillet (10.25")

A 10.25-inch round pan built for the oven rather than the stove: same classic shape as the skillet everyone bakes cornbread in, but 1.5 lb lighter and with two loop handles instead of a long one, so it fits an oven and a table better. The pick if you want a traditional round pone and do not want a mold.

Strengths

  • The familiar round cornbread shape, cut into wedges at the table like a skillet pone
  • 4.14 lb by Lodge's own figure — about a pound and a half lighter than the 10.25-inch Classic skillet
  • 12.81 in overall against roughly 17 in for a long-handled 10.25-inch skillet, so it turns in a small oven

Trade-offs

  • Only the outside edge gets crust; the middle of the pone is soft, which is the trade a wedge or stick pan removes
  • Two loop handles means no one-handed slide or shake, and no leverage to invert it
  • Lodge publishes no cooktop rating for it at all — neither a stovetop endorsement nor the bakeware warning — so we cannot tell you it is burner-safe
TypeBare cast iron
Size10.25 in round (12.81 in overall)
Pre-seasonedYes
Induction-safeNot published
Made inUSA
Best forA classic round pone, baked and served in the same pan

The details. Lodge's own page for part BW10BSK publishes 12.81 in long x 10.31 in wide x 2.0 in high and 4.14 lb, made in the USA, seasoned with 100% natural vegetable oil, dual handles, nontoxic manufacture without PFAS, care of hand wash, dry, oil, the Made Right warranty, and a $29.95 list price. Unlike Lodge's wedge, cornstick, muffin and mini cake pans, this page does NOT carry the "Oven safe, not recommended for stovetop use" line — but it does not claim stovetop or induction use either, so the induction row reads Not published rather than Yes. Amazon's own third feature bullet for this pan reads "this cast iron wok features dual loop handles", which is a copy-paste error on the listing and not a description of the pan.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 24, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best corn-stick pan

Old Mountain Pre-Seasoned 7 Impression Cornbread Pan

The corn-stick pan you can actually buy. Lodge's own cornstick pan was unavailable on Amazon when we checked, which leaves this as the in-stock way to get the seven ear-of-corn molds that make cornbread into dunkable sticks. It publishes a warranty, which is more than most pans at this price manage, and almost nothing else.

Strengths

  • Seven corn-cob molds — the maximum crust-to-crumb ratio of any shape on this page
  • Publishes a limited warranty against manufacturing defects, the only non-Lodge warranty here
  • Small and light at 12 x 5.5 in and a listed 2.9 lb, so it stores and lifts easily

Trade-offs

  • The listing carries exactly one feature bullet; no country of manufacture, no cooktop rating and no oven temperature appear anywhere on it
  • The buy box was held by a third-party seller (Hour Loop) rather than Amazon itself when we checked
  • Corn sticks are small, so they dry out faster than a wedge or a pone and are best eaten the same day
TypeBare cast iron
Size12 x 5.5 in, 7 corn-stick wells
Pre-seasonedYes
Induction-safeNot published
Made inNot published
Best forCorn sticks for dunking in chili and soup

The details. The listing (brand and manufacturer Old Mountain, model 10120, part 457866-10120) states "Pre Seasoned and Ready to Use" as its only feature, 12 x 5.5 x 1 in, 2.9 lb, and a "Limited Warranty against manufacturing defects". No country of manufacture, cooktop list or oven temperature is published, and we found no maker's page to check any of it against, so those rows stay Not published. On September 24, 2026 the pan was in stock with the buy box held by the third-party seller Hour Loop rather than by Amazon.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 24, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best for corn muffins

Lodge Seasoned Cast Iron Muffin Pan (6 wells)

Corn muffins rather than cornbread, and the most useful pan here the rest of the year — the same six wells bake blueberry muffins, popovers, Yorkshire puddings and egg bites. Deep wells mean a softer center than a wedge pan gives you, which some people prefer and others consider the point of missing.

Strengths

  • Six deep wells release cleanly and portion themselves — the easiest shape here to serve and to freeze
  • Lodge publishes 12.69 x 7.06 x 1.56 in and 4.92 lb, and backs it with the Made Right warranty
  • Made in the USA, pre-seasoned, and genuinely multi-purpose beyond cornbread

Trade-offs

  • Deep wells mean proportionally less crust than a wedge or corn-stick pan
  • Lodge's feature list carries the same "Oven safe, not recommended for stovetop use" warning as its other bakeware
  • Six muffins is a small batch; a standard steel tin does twelve for a tenth of the price
TypeBare cast iron
Size12.69 x 7.06 in, 6 muffin wells
Pre-seasonedYes
Induction-safeNo
Made inUSA
Best forCorn muffins, and a pan that gets used outside cornbread season

The details. Lodge's own page for part BW6MFN publishes 12.69 in long x 7.06 in wide x 1.56 in high and 4.92 lb, six muffin wells, dual handles, seasoning with 100% natural vegetable oil, manufacture without PFAS, care of hand wash, dry, oil, the Made Right warranty, a $34.95 list price, and "Oven safe, not recommended for stovetop use" — which is why the induction row reads No. Amazon's spec table gives the weight as 4.70 lb against Lodge's 4.92; both are recorded rather than averaged. Amazon showed a second, cheaper listing for one unit from Amazon Resale on September 24, 2026; that is an open-box offer, not the new pan.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 24, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best budget wedge pan

Stansport Pre-Seasoned Cast Iron Wedge Pan (8 wedges)

The same eight-wedge idea as the Lodge for appreciably less, sold and shipped by Amazon and arriving pre-seasoned. What you give up is verification: Stansport's own website has no page for this pan, so there is no warranty, no stated origin and no maker's spec sheet to check the listing against.

Strengths

  • Eight divided wedges at a lower price than any other shaped pan we could verify in stock
  • Sold and shipped by Amazon itself, and pre-seasoned so it bakes on day one
  • 10.75 x 8.6 in is slightly smaller than the Lodge, which suits a small oven and a small household

Trade-offs

  • Stansport's own site returned no product page for it, so no warranty or country of manufacture could be confirmed
  • Every figure here comes from the Amazon listing alone, with nothing to cross-check it against
  • Smaller wedges than the Lodge, so eight portions are eight smaller portions
TypeBare cast iron
Size10.75 x 8.6 in, 8 wedge wells
Pre-seasonedYes
Induction-safeNot published
Made inNot published
Best forTrying the wedge shape without committing to the Lodge

The details. The listing (brand and manufacturer Stansport, model 16319) states the pan is pre-seasoned and ready to use, has dual handles for transporting in and out of the oven, features 8 individually divided wedges, and measures 10.75 in L x 8.6 in W x 1.25 in H; Amazon's spec table adds 4.2 lb. It was in stock and sold by Amazon.com on September 24, 2026. Searches on stansport.com for "wedge pan" and for "cast iron" returned no product on the same day, so no warranty, country of manufacture, oven rating or cooktop list could be verified and those rows stay Not published.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 24, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#6Best pan you may already own

Lodge Seasoned Cast Iron Skillet (10.25")

The default cast iron skillet, and the right first pan for almost everyone: American-made, pre-seasoned, oven-and-campfire proof, and a fraction of the price of the boutique brands. Buy this before you spend more.

Strengths

  • Sand-cast in the USA and pre-seasoned, so it's usable out of the box
  • The 10.25" size fits two servings, cornbread, or a whole roast chicken
  • Cheap enough that you can add sizes without thinking hard about it

Trade-offs

  • Around 5 lb — noticeably heavy when you're flipping one-handed
  • The cast finish is pebbled, not machined smooth; it slicks up with use
TypeBare cast iron
Size10.25 in
Pre-seasonedYes
Induction-safeYes
Made inUSA
Best forMost people buying their first (or main) skillet

The details. Bare cast iron: no enamel to chip, safe from stovetop to a 500°F oven to a campfire. The factory seasoning is vegetable oil; it improves the more you cook fat in it. Dry it and wipe on a little oil after each wash.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 8, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

How we chose these cornbread pans

Cornbread asks almost nothing of a pan thermally. There is no sear to hold, no braise to keep at a simmer, no two-hour bake to ride out. Batter goes into a hot pan at 400 to 425°F and comes out twenty minutes later. That removes most of the criteria we use on the main skillet roundup— mass, wall thickness, handle leverage — and leaves a much shorter list, none of which the listings lead with.

1. The shape, because the shape is the crust

Every pan here bakes the same batter. What differs is how much of that batter touches iron. Run it as a ratio and the ranking falls out on its own:

  • A 10-inch round— skillet or baker’s skillet — gives you one browned bottom and one browned rim. Cut into eight wedges, the two center pieces have no crust on any vertical face at all.
  • A wedge pan molds those same eight portions individually, so each one browns on its bottom and both long sides. This is the biggest single jump in crust available, which is why the wedge pan takes the top pick.
  • A corn-stick pan goes further still: seven small ears with a ridged surface and a very high surface-area-to-volume ratio. Almost all crust. Also almost all dry by the next morning, which is the honest trade.
  • A muffin pangoes the other way. Deep wells mean a tall, soft, steamy center and crust only around the outside — less crust than a wedge pan, more than a skillet, and the easiest of the lot to serve, freeze and reheat.

Pick the shape first. Every pan below is a competent piece of cast iron, so the brand argument matters far less here than it does on the skillet brands page.

2. Whether the maker will let it near a burner

This is the finding worth knowing before you buy, and it is stated plainly by Lodge and nobody else. Lodge’s wedge pan, cornstick pan, muffin pan and mini cake pan all carry the same line in their feature lists: “Oven safe, not recommended for stovetop use.”Lodge’s skillets carry the opposite line — compatible with any stovetop including induction, plus oven, grill and campfire. These molded pans are thinner, flatter castings than a skillet and Lodge is not willing to stand behind them over a concentrated burner.

That is why three entries below show Induction-safe: No in their spec tables. The iron is magnetic; the maker simply does not want the pan there. And it matters less than you would think for this particular job, because the classic cornbread technique preheats the pan in the oven, not on a burner — which is exactly how our cornbread recipe is written. If you are used to melting bacon fat on a burner before the batter goes in, that is the one habit you will have to move into the oven.

The Lodge Baker’s Skillet is the odd one out and we have reported it exactly as published: its page carries neither the bakeware warning nor a stovetop endorsement, so its induction row reads Not publishedrather than Yes or No. We are not going to resolve a maker’s silence into a permission.

3. Who publishes a spec, and who publishes nothing

Shaped cast iron bakeware is a category full of anonymous listings, and the gap in documentation is wider here than in any other product class on this site. Lodge publishes a dimension, a weight, a care routine, a country of manufacture and a warranty for every pan in its bakeware line. The Old Mountain corn-stick pan publishes a warranty and one sentence. The Stansport wedge pan publishes dimensions on the listing and has no maker’s page at all — searches on stansport.com for both “wedge pan” and “cast iron” returned nothing on the day we looked.

We have not treated that absence as disqualifying, because a $19 wedge pan that arrives seasoned and bakes cornbread is a reasonable thing to buy. We have treated it as a fact to state. Where a maker publishes nothing, the spec table below says Not published rather than filling the row with a plausible number.

4. Weight and overall length, because these pans live in the oven

Every published weight here lands between 2.9 and 4.92 pounds — light, for cast iron. A 10.25-inch Lodge Classic skillet is 5.66 pounds by Lodge’s own figure, so the Baker’s Skillet at 4.14 pounds is the rare cast iron pan that is genuinely easier to handle than the thing it replaces. If weight is the reason you avoid cast iron, this is one of the few corners of the category that does not ask much of you, and our lightweight skillet roundup covers the rest.

Length matters more. Lodge’s cornstick pan is 14.13 inches long and its wedge pan 11.69; the Baker’s Skillet is 12.81 inches handle to handle against roughly 17 for a long-handled 10.25-inch skillet. In a compact or apartment oven, that difference is the difference between turning the pan halfway through and not. Every pan on this page uses two loop handles rather than one long one, so plan on two mitts and two hands, always.

One weight figure we will not repeat: Amazon’s spec table lists the Lodge wedge pan at 1.55 pounds. That cannot be true of a cast iron casting nearly a foot across. Lodge publishes 4.86 pounds, and that is the number in the table below.

5. Seasoning, and what cornbread batter does to it

All six pans arrive pre-seasoned, which is not the same as arriving non-stick. Molded pans have far more internal corner than a skillet does — the point of a wedge well is a sharp angle — and corners are where factory seasoning is thinnest and where batter welds itself on. A new wedge or corn-stick pan will stick more on its first two or three bakes than any skillet you have used, and then stop.

The fix is not a special product. It is fat in the well before the batter goes in, a genuinely hot pan so the batter sets on contact rather than soaking in, and a few bakes to build the film. Our seasoning guide has the full method if you want to run a couple of rounds of oil through a new pan before its first cornbread, and the sticky cast iron guide covers the most common thing people do wrong afterwards.

The pans, one by one

Lodge 8-Well Wedge Pan — the best overall

If you are buying one cornbread pan, buy this shape. Eight molded wedges turn a single pone into eight portions that are crust on three faces, and they come out of the pan looking like the cornbread people picture rather than like a novelty. It is the only shaped pan here that still serves the way skillet cornbread serves — wedges, in the middle of the table — while roughly tripling the browned surface.

Lodge publishes the whole spec: 11.69 by 8.94 by 1.19 inches, 4.86 pounds, cast and seasoned in South Pittsburg, Tennessee, made without PFAS, covered by the Made Right warranty. The costs are the shape itself. Eight portions is eight portions, with no way to cut a bigger slice for someone who wants one, and nothing else in your kitchen bakes neatly in a wedge mold. And Lodge’s own instruction keeps it off the burner, so the pan and the fat both preheat in the oven.

Lodge 10.25-inch Baker’s Skillet — the best round pone

The pick for anyone who wants the traditional round cornbread and is not interested in molds. It is the familiar 10.25-inch circle, cut into wedges at the table, with two changes from a normal skillet that both help in an oven: it weighs 4.14 pounds instead of 5.66, and its two loop handles bring it to 12.81 inches overall instead of roughly 17. In a small oven that is the whole argument.

What you are giving up is the crust that the rest of this page exists for. A round pone browns on the bottom and around the rim, and the middle two wedges are soft on every vertical face. You also give up the long handle, which is more useful than it sounds for sliding a pan out far enough to pour batter into it safely. Lodge publishes no cooktop rating for this pan in either direction, and we have left that row honest rather than assuming.

Old Mountain 7-Impression Cornbread Pan — the best corn-stick pan

Corn sticks are the highest-crust cornbread there is: seven small ridged ears, each one almost entirely browned surface, made for dunking in chili and greens and bean soup. This is the in-stock way to get that shape. It is small, it is light at a listed 2.9 pounds, and it publishes a limited warranty against manufacturing defects — the only warranty on this page outside Lodge.

It publishes very little else. The listing carries exactly one feature bullet, no country of manufacture, no oven temperature and no cooktop rating, and we found no maker’s page to check any of it against. The buy box was held by a third-party seller rather than by Amazon on the day we looked, which is worth a glance before you order. And corn sticks stale fast: all that surface area that makes them good on the first evening makes them dry by the second.

Lodge 6-Well Muffin Pan — the best for corn muffins

The most useful pan here in a kitchen that does not bake cornbread every week. Six deep wells make corn muffins that portion, freeze and reheat better than any slab does, and the same pan handles blueberry muffins, popovers, Yorkshire puddings and baked egg cups the rest of the year. Lodge publishes 12.69 by 7.06 by 1.56 inches and 4.92 pounds, and it carries the same US manufacture and warranty as the wedge pan.

The deduction is the one the shape guarantees: a deep well has a lot of interior and comparatively little edge, so a corn muffin is softer and less crusty than a wedge. Six is also a small batch — a twelve-cup steel tin costs a fraction of this and does twice the work, and if that is your honest use case, buy the steel tin. Lodge’s bakeware warning applies here too: oven only.

Stansport 8-Wedge Pan — the best budget wedge pan

The sensible pick if you are not yet sure the wedge shape earns a place in your cupboard. It is the same eight-well idea as the Lodge in a slightly smaller casting — 10.75 by 8.6 inches against 11.69 by 8.94 — for appreciably less money, pre-seasoned, and sold and shipped by Amazon itself rather than by a marketplace seller.

What you give up is verification. Stansport’s own website has no page for this pan; searching it for both “wedge pan” and “cast iron” returned nothing. So there is no warranty, no stated country of manufacture, no oven rating and no maker’s spec sheet to check the listing’s numbers against. That absence is a finding rather than a complaint — for a first shaped pan that costs less than a bag of good cornmeal and a pound of butter, it may be exactly the right trade, and the Lodge is still there if you end up using it weekly.

Lodge 10.25-inch Classic Skillet — the best pan you may already own

We would be selling you something you do not need if we left this off. The single most common cornbread pan in American kitchens is a plain 10.25-inch Lodge skillet, it is the pan our own recipe is written for, and it makes genuinely excellent cornbread. It is also rated for every heat source, so it is the one pan on this page you can preheat on a burner with bacon fat in it if that is how you were taught.

Its limits are the ones this page is about. One browned face per slice, a soft middle, and a 5.66-pound casting with a long handle that wants more oven than the molded pans do. If you already own one, make cornbread in it this weekend before you buy anything above — that is the cheapest way to find out whether more crust is a thing you actually want. The budget skillet roundup covers this pan in its day job, and the skillet size guide explains why a 10.25-inch pan bakes a roughly 9-inch pone.

The pan Lodge makes that you could not buy on Amazon

Lodge’s own 6-impression Cornstick Pan (part BW6CRN) is the best-known corn-stick pan in the country, and on September 24, 2026 it returned “Currently unavailable” on Amazon while sitting in stock on Lodge’s own store at $24.90. We have not featured it above, because this site does not rank pans you cannot buy through the merchant we can actually send you to.

It is worth knowing about anyway. Lodge publishes 14.13 by 6.0 by 1.13 inches and 4.37 pounds for it, with the same seasoning, the same PFAS- free manufacture, the same Made Right warranty and the same oven-only instruction as the wedge pan. If you want corn sticks from a maker with a published spec sheet and a warranty, it is available direct from Lodge — we earn nothing from telling you that, which is rather the point. If you want them today, from Amazon, the Old Mountain pan above is the one in stock.

Two other pans were dropped at verification and are named here rather than quietly omitted. A budget 7-corncob pan sold under the Classic Cuisine name is in stock and cheap, but its listing claims use on the stovetop, induction, a grill and a campfire — claims no maker with a spec sheet makes for a thin molded casting — and it publishes no weight, no origin and no warranty. And a house-brand wedge pan advertises a “nonstick coating” on cast iron while also telling you to season it, which are two different products described in one bullet list.

Do you need a cornbread pan at all?

For a lot of people, no, and it is worth saying so on a page that makes money when you buy one. If you own a 10 or 12-inch cast iron skillet and you make cornbread a few times a winter, that skillet is already the answer and a shaped pan is a preference rather than a capability.

A dedicated pan earns its shelf in three situations. You genuinely prefer crust to crumb, in which case a wedge or corn-stick pan is a real and permanent improvement that no technique in a skillet will match. You want portions that serve themselves — for a crowd, a potluck, a freezer. Or you want the corn-stick shape specifically, which is a regional tradition and not something a skillet can fake. If none of those is you, keep the money and spend the afternoon on your seasoning instead.

Getting a clean release every time

Molded pans stick more than skillets for a simple geometric reason: more corners, more contact, less room to get a spatula in. Three things do almost all the work.

Preheat the pan empty.Put it in as the oven comes up to 400 to 425°F and give it ten minutes at temperature. Batter poured into a merely warm mold soaks into the surface before it sets, and that is what welds. Batter that hisses on contact releases.

Fat in every well, not a wipe over the top. Bacon drippings, butter or a neutral oil, brushed into the corners of each well while the pan is hot. On a corn-stick pan in particular, the ridges are the whole point and they are also where a dry spot will grab.

Turn them out while warm.Give the pan five minutes out of the oven, then invert it over a board. Cornbread left to cool all the way in an iron mold sweats, softens and sticks — the opposite of what you bought the pan for. Afterwards treat it like any bare cast iron: scrape while warm, hot water and a brush, dry it fully, wipe on a thin film of oil. Our cleaning guide has the full routine, and a stiff brush beats any scrubber for getting into the corners of a mold.

Frequently asked questions

What is a cast iron cornbread pan?

It is a molded cast iron baking pan that divides one batch of cornbread batter into individual shaped portions — most commonly eight wedges, seven corn-shaped sticks or six muffins — so that each portion browns on three or four sides instead of one. A plain cast iron skillet bakes a single round pone with crust only on the bottom and rim. The shaped pan is not thermally better than a skillet; it simply puts far more of the batter in contact with hot iron.

Do I need a cornbread pan if I already have a cast iron skillet?

No. A 10-inch cast iron skillet is the traditional and completely adequate cornbread pan, and it is what our own cornbread recipe is written for. Buy a shaped pan only if you specifically want more crust per portion, want portions that serve themselves, or want the corn-stick shape, which a skillet cannot reproduce. If you make cornbread a few times a winter, the skillet is the right answer.

Can you use a cast iron cornbread pan on the stovetop?

Usually not, and Lodge says so in writing. The feature lists for Lodge's wedge pan, cornstick pan, muffin pan and mini cake pan all read "Oven safe, not recommended for stovetop use", where Lodge's skillets are rated for any stovetop including induction plus oven, grill and campfire. It matters less than you would expect for cornbread, because the classic technique preheats the pan inside the oven rather than on a burner. If you want to melt bacon fat on a burner first, use a skillet.

Wedge pan or corn-stick pan — which should I buy?

A wedge pan if you want cornbread that still looks and serves like cornbread, with roughly triple the crust of a skillet slice. A corn-stick pan if you want the maximum possible crust and small dunkable pieces for chili, beans or soup. The corn sticks are the more dramatic change and the more traditional shape in parts of the South, but they are small and they stale quickly — they are best eaten the evening they are baked.

How do you keep cornbread from sticking in a cast iron mold?

Preheat the empty pan in the oven at 400 to 425°F for about ten minutes so the batter hisses on contact rather than soaking in; brush fat into every well, including the corners and the ridges, while the pan is hot; and turn the cornbread out after about five minutes rather than letting it cool in the mold, where it will sweat and soften. A new molded pan sticks more on its first couple of bakes than a skillet does, because factory seasoning is thinnest in the corners, and then it stops.

Are cast iron cornbread pans pre-seasoned?

All six pans on this page are sold pre-seasoned, and the Lodge pans state their seasoning is 100% natural vegetable oil applied at the foundry. Pre-seasoned is not the same as non-stick, though. Molded pans have more internal corners than a skillet, factory seasoning is thinnest there, and the film needs a few bakes to build. Fat in the wells and a properly hot pan do more for release in the first month than any amount of extra seasoning.

What size cornbread pan do I need for a standard recipe?

A standard batch built on about 1.5 cups of cornmeal — the amount in our cornbread recipe — fills a 10-inch skillet, an 8-well wedge pan or a 6-well muffin pan, and will overfill a 7-impression corn-stick pan, which is designed for a smaller amount and is usually baked in two rounds. If you are moving a skillet recipe into a molded pan, fill each well about two-thirds and expect the bake to run five to ten minutes shorter, because the portions are smaller.

Sources

  • Lodge Cast Iron — Seasoned Cast Iron Wedge Pan — Lodge's own page for the 8-well wedge pan (part BW8WP): 11.69 in long, 8.94 in wide, 1.19 in high, 4.86 lb; seasoned with 100% natural vegetable oil; dual handles; made without PFAS; "Oven safe, not recommended for stovetop use"; hand wash, dry, oil; covered by the Lodge Made Right warranty. Listed at $24.90 against a $29.95 regular price on the day we visited (accessed September 24, 2026)
  • Lodge Cast Iron — 10.25 Inch Seasoned Cast Iron Baker's Skillet — Lodge's own page for the Baker's Skillet (part BW10BSK): 12.81 in long, 10.31 in wide, 2.0 in high, 4.14 lb; made in the USA; seasoned with 100% natural vegetable oil; dual handles; made without PFAS; hand wash, dry, oil; $34.95 list, $29.95 shown on the day we visited. Its feature list does not carry the "Oven safe, not recommended for stovetop use" line that Lodge's wedge, cornstick, muffin and mini cake pans carry, and it makes no stovetop or induction claim either way (accessed September 24, 2026)
  • Lodge Cast Iron — Seasoned Cast Iron Cornstick Pan — Lodge's own page for the 6-impression cornstick pan (part BW6CRN): 14.13 in long, 6.0 in wide, 1.13 in high, 4.37 lb; seasoned with 100% natural vegetable oil; dual handles; made without PFAS; "Oven safe, not recommended for stovetop use"; hand wash, dry, oil. In stock direct from Lodge at $24.90 against a $29.95 regular price on the day we visited — the same pan returned "Currently unavailable." from Amazon that day (accessed September 24, 2026)
  • Lodge Cast Iron — Seasoned Cast Iron Muffin Pan — Lodge's own page for the 6-well muffin pan (part BW6MFN): 12.69 in long, 7.06 in wide, 1.56 in high, 4.92 lb; seasoned with 100% natural vegetable oil; dual handles; made without PFAS; "Oven safe, not recommended for stovetop use"; hand wash, dry, oil; $34.95 list (accessed September 24, 2026)
  • Lodge Cast Iron — Bakeware collection — Lodge's own bakeware index, used to enumerate the shapes the company currently sells for cornbread and quick breads: wedge pan, cornstick pan, muffin pan, mini cake pan, baker's skillet, loaf pan, large loaf pan, pie pan, baking pan and the novelty cactus, pineapple and wreath pans (accessed September 24, 2026)
  • Lodge Cast Iron — Classic Cast Iron Skillets — Lodge's own listing for the classic skillet line, with a per-size spec table: 6.5 in 1.94 lb, 8 in 3.44 lb, 10.25 in 5.66 lb, 12 in 7.69 lb, 13.25 in 10.5 lb, 15 in 12.3 lb. States the line is compatible with any stovetop including induction, plus oven, grill or campfire; seasoned with 100% natural vegetable oil; made in the USA. No oven temperature ceiling is published for bare iron (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Lodge Cast Iron — Cleaning & Care — Lodge's official use & care guidance (a little soap is fine; dry and oil) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • Lodge Cast Iron — How to Season — Lodge's official seasoning method — wash, thin oil, bake hot to polymerize (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading