The Seasoned Pan

The Best Cast Iron Fajita Pans and Sizzle Platters

Six verified in stock, ranked on whether the wood underliner is in the box, whether the pan has a handle you can safely carry, and what each listing actually publishes. Lodge sells the pan and the underliner as two separate part numbers, and the underliner is the dearer one.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Buy a set that includes the wood underliner, not a pan on its own. That is the whole recommendation, and it is not a style preference. A fajita pan exists to leave the burner at full heat and arrive at the table still spitting, which means the last thing it touches is furniture. Lodge — the only foundry in this category with a century of published cast iron behind it — sells its oval fajita pan and its oval wood underliner as two separate part numbers, and on the day we checked the underliner was listed in a higher price bracket than the pan it sits under.

The second thing to know is that two Lodge ovals that look identical in a thumbnail are different products. The Oval Fajita Pan(LOS3) has Lodge’s signature long handle, so it cooks as well as it serves. The Handleless Oval Serving Griddle(LOSH3) is the same oval with the handle deliberately left off — a server you move on its underliner, not a pan you take off a burner. And you cannot tell them apart from the spec table, because all three Lodge ovals we read carry the same wrong model name, “Lodge Cast Iron Rectangular Griddle”, on oval pans.

Below: the five things that decide this purchase, then the six platters we could verify as live and buyable, each with the dimensions, weight and contents its listing publishes. We have not hands-on tested them; here is exactly what we do instead. Prices are checked live, and the cheapest honest answer is ranked where it belongs.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on materials, size, finish and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not hands-on tested these pans — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Lodge Oval Fajita Pan, 10 x 7.5 in (LOS3)

Lodge Oval Fajita Pan, 10 x 7.5 in (LOS3)

The pan the whole category copies, from the only foundry in it with a century of published cast iron behind it. Signature long handle so it cooks as well as it serves, 3.56 lb over a 10 x 7.5 in oval, and a lifetime warranty on the listing. One thing it does not come with: the wood underliner you need to put it on a table.

Best overall
$23.95 · View on Amazon

$30.4821% off

Price as of October 30, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Lodge Chef's Platter Set with Wood Underliner (LSC3SET)

Lodge Chef's Platter Set with Wood Underliner (LSC3SET)

The only Lodge oval sold the way the category should be sold: platter and wood underliner in one box, stated "Made in U.S.A", at 13.75 x 9.75 in the largest serving surface here. If you want American iron on a wooden base without assembling it from two part numbers yourself, this is the one purchase that does it.

Best bundled set
$79.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 30, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
DVK 9-Inch Fajita Skillet with Removable Handle and Wooden Tray

DVK 9-Inch Fajita Skillet with Removable Handle and Wooden Tray

The most thought-through single place setting in the category: a removable cool-touch handle so the pan cooks with a handle and serves without one, a wooden tray in the box, two pouring spouts and a helper handle. It is also the one pick here whose listing never publishes a weight — in a category sold on heat retention, that is the spec you most want.

Best single place setting
$37.99 · View on Amazon

$42.9912% off

Price as of October 30, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
ZURRITO 4-Place Fajita Skillet Set with Wooden Bases and Saucers

ZURRITO 4-Place Fajita Skillet Set with Wooden Bases and Saucers

Four complete place settings — four plates, four wooden trays, four handle covers and four saucers — for roughly what two Lodge pans plus two underliners would cost. The right buy if the point is a table of four all getting their own sizzling plate; just note the listing tells you to re-season it before first use.

Best for a table of four
$59.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 30, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Lodge Handleless Oval Serving Griddle, 10 x 7.5 in (LOSH3)

Lodge Handleless Oval Serving Griddle, 10 x 7.5 in (LOSH3)

The same oval as Lodge's fajita pan with the handle deliberately left off, stated "MADE IN THE USA" and the cheapest American iron on this page. Published 2.67 lb against the handled pan's 3.56 lb tells you what you are giving up: this is a server you move with a gripper or an underliner, not a pan you cook in.

Best cheap American iron
$19.90 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 30, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Lodge Oval Griddle, 13.375 x 10 in (LJ0SH3)

Lodge Oval Griddle, 13.375 x 10 in (LJ0SH3)

The shared platter. At 13.375 x 10 in and a published 4.21 lb it is the biggest and heaviest oval Lodge sells into this category, which is both why it keeps a table's worth of food hot and why you will want a proper underliner and two hands. Also "MADE IN THE USA" on the listing.

Best shared platter
$23.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 30, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Lodge Oval Fajita Pan, 10 x 7.5 in (LOS3)

The pan the whole category copies, from the only foundry in it with a century of published cast iron behind it. Signature long handle so it cooks as well as it serves, 3.56 lb over a 10 x 7.5 in oval, and a lifetime warranty on the listing. One thing it does not come with: the wood underliner you need to put it on a table.

Strengths

  • Lodge's signature handle means this one cooks, not just serves
  • Published 3.56 lb and a "Lifetime" warranty on the listing
  • Listing states oven, stove, grill, campfire and "also great with induction cooktops"

Trade-offs

  • No wood underliner in the box, and Lodge's separate oval underliner costs more than the pan
  • This listing, unlike Lodge's other oval SKUs, never states a country of manufacture
  • Its spec table calls the model "Lodge Cast Iron Rectangular Griddle" on an oval pan
TypeBare cast iron
Size10 x 7.5 in
Pre-seasonedYes
Induction-safeYes
Made inNot published
Best forCooking fajitas or a steak and carrying the pan straight to the table

The details. The listing publishes a 10 x 7.5 in cooking size, 3.56 lb, part number LOS3, a "Lifetime" warranty, "Seasoned with oil for a natural, easy-release finish", "Perfect for fajitas or sizzling steaks", suitability for "the oven, on the stove, on the grill or over the campfire; also great with induction cooktops" and care of "hand wash, dry, rub with cooking oil". It does NOT state a country of manufacture, even though Lodge's handleless and 13.375-inch oval listings both do, and its spec-table model name reads "Lodge Cast Iron Rectangular Griddle" — wrong for an oval pan and identical across all three Lodge oval listings, so the model field is not used here to tell them apart. Lodge's own consumer catalog has no page for this product (see lib/sources.ts: lodgeServeware); every figure is the listing's.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 29, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best bundled set

Lodge Chef's Platter Set with Wood Underliner (LSC3SET)

The only Lodge oval sold the way the category should be sold: platter and wood underliner in one box, stated "Made in U.S.A", at 13.75 x 9.75 in the largest serving surface here. If you want American iron on a wooden base without assembling it from two part numbers yourself, this is the one purchase that does it.

Strengths

  • Platter and wood underliner ship together — the one bundled Lodge oval
  • "Made in U.S.A" is stated on the listing, which Lodge's handled fajita pan omits
  • 13.75 x 9.75 in is a true platter, not a single place setting

Trade-offs

  • Dearest option on this page by a wide margin for one place setting's worth of iron
  • Published 4.5 lb is for the three-piece set, so the iron's own weight is unstated
  • Listing gives no cooktop, oven or induction guidance at all
TypeBare cast iron
Size13.75 x 9.75 in
Pre-seasonedYes
Induction-safeNot published
Made inUSA
Best forServing a steak, chops or a whole fajita platter without buying two part numbers

The details. The listing publishes 13.75 x 9.75 x 1.04 in, 4.5 lb for a three-item set, part number LSC3SET, "Griddle is seasoned for a natural, easy release finish", "Wood underline protects tables and countertops", "Easy to clean and care" and "Made in U.S.A". It publishes no cooktop or oven guidance, no warranty terms and no separate weight for the iron alone, and Lodge's own consumer catalog has no page for it (see lib/sources.ts: lodgeServeware). The 4.5 lb figure is therefore recorded as a set weight rather than quoted as the platter's.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 29, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best single place setting

DVK 9-Inch Fajita Skillet with Removable Handle and Wooden Tray

The most thought-through single place setting in the category: a removable cool-touch handle so the pan cooks with a handle and serves without one, a wooden tray in the box, two pouring spouts and a helper handle. It is also the one pick here whose listing never publishes a weight — in a category sold on heat retention, that is the spec you most want.

Strengths

  • Removable handle: cooks like a skillet, goes to the table like a platter
  • Wooden tray and a helper handle included, so nothing else is needed
  • Two pouring spouts, which matters when the pan arrives full of fat

Trade-offs

  • No published weight anywhere on the listing, the one spec a sizzle platter lives on
  • "DVK's lifetime warranty" is claimed with no terms published and no maker page
  • No country of manufacture stated
TypeBare cast iron
Size9 x 5.12 in
Pre-seasonedYes
Induction-safeYes
Made inNot published
Best forOne complete sizzling place setting, cooked and served from the same box

The details. The listing publishes 9 x 5.12 x 1 in, a two-item count, model 912, "a stylish & heat-resistant wooden tray and a removable cool-touch handle", "two pouring spouts" and "a helper handle for better balance", pre-seasoning with "100% natural vegetable oil", freedom from "PFOA, PTFE, and other synthetic chemicals", "Oven Safe, Grill & Induction Compatible" in the title, and "DVK's lifetime warranty" with no terms attached. It publishes NO weight and no country of manufacture, and no DVK maker page was reachable, so both fields read "Not published".

Specs read from the product listing, on October 29, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best for a table of four

ZURRITO 4-Place Fajita Skillet Set with Wooden Bases and Saucers

Four complete place settings — four plates, four wooden trays, four handle covers and four saucers — for roughly what two Lodge pans plus two underliners would cost. The right buy if the point is a table of four all getting their own sizzling plate; just note the listing tells you to re-season it before first use.

Strengths

  • Four plates, four wooden trays, four handle covers and four saucers in one box
  • Cheapest route to a full table of sizzling place settings
  • Listing states compatibility with "ovens, stovetops, grills, and even open flames"

Trade-offs

  • "Pre-seasoned" and then "we recommend seasoning again before first use" in the same bullet
  • Its own first bullet says the set "includes two cast iron skillet" while the next says four
  • No per-plate dimension, no per-plate weight, no origin and no warranty
TypeBare cast iron
SizeNot published
Pre-seasonedYes
Induction-safeNot published
Made inNot published
Best forServing four people their own sizzling plate on the same night

The details. The listing publishes a four-place contents list — "4 x cast iron hot plate, 4 x wooden trays for serving, 4 x handle covers for safety, and 4 x saucers" — a packed dimension of 14.72 x 7.2 x 3 in, 7 lb for the whole set, compatibility with "ovens, stovetops, grills, and even open flames", and that each plate "comes pre-seasoned and ready to use — but for optimal performance and longevity, we recommend seasoning again before first use". It publishes NO per-plate dimension (so size reads "Not published" rather than carrying the carton's figures), no per-plate weight, no country of manufacture and no warranty. One internal contradiction is recorded rather than resolved: the first bullet says the set "includes two cast iron skillet" while the second says four.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 29, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best cheap American iron

Lodge Handleless Oval Serving Griddle, 10 x 7.5 in (LOSH3)

The same oval as Lodge's fajita pan with the handle deliberately left off, stated "MADE IN THE USA" and the cheapest American iron on this page. Published 2.67 lb against the handled pan's 3.56 lb tells you what you are giving up: this is a server you move with a gripper or an underliner, not a pan you cook in.

Strengths

  • "MADE IN THE USA" and South Pittsburg, Tennessee are both stated on the listing
  • Cheapest piece of documented American iron in the category
  • Handleless stacks and stores, which is Lodge's own stated reason for it

Trade-offs

  • No handle means no safe way to move it hot without a gripper or an underliner
  • Published 2.67 lb holds the sizzle less well than the handled 3.56 lb pan
  • Its spec table also carries the wrong model name, "Lodge Cast Iron Rectangular Griddle"
TypeBare cast iron
Size10 x 7.5 in
Pre-seasonedYes
Induction-safeNot published
Made inUSA
Best forTable service where the pan is carried on its underliner, not by a handle

The details. The listing publishes a 10 x 7.5 in size, 9.93 x 7.37 x 0.68 in, 2.67 lb, part number LOSH3, "the Lodge Handleless Cast Iron Oval Serving Griddle adds authenticity to any meal", seasoning with "100% vegetable oil; no synthetic coatings or chemicals", and "MADE IN THE USA. Lodge has been making cast iron cookware in South Pittsburg, Tennessee (pop. 3,300) since 1896". It publishes no cooktop or oven guidance and no warranty terms, and its spec-table model name is the same wrong "Lodge Cast Iron Rectangular Griddle" string the other Lodge ovals carry. Lodge's own consumer catalog has no page for it (see lib/sources.ts: lodgeServeware).

Specs read from the product listing, on October 29, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#6Best shared platter

Lodge Oval Griddle, 13.375 x 10 in (LJ0SH3)

The shared platter. At 13.375 x 10 in and a published 4.21 lb it is the biggest and heaviest oval Lodge sells into this category, which is both why it keeps a table's worth of food hot and why you will want a proper underliner and two hands. Also "MADE IN THE USA" on the listing.

Strengths

  • 13.375 x 10 in — the only oval here big enough to serve a table from one pan
  • Published 4.21 lb, the most thermal mass on this page
  • "MADE IN THE USA" stated, with Lodge's South Pittsburg foundry named

Trade-offs

  • Handleless and over 4 lb: hot, heavy and awkward without the right underliner
  • Too big for a single place setting, which is what most buyers in this category want
  • No cooktop, oven or warranty guidance published on the listing
TypeBare cast iron
Size13.375 x 10 in
Pre-seasonedYes
Induction-safeNot published
Made inUSA
Best forOne big sizzling platter the whole table eats from

The details. The listing publishes "Dimensions 13.375" x 10"", 13.37 x 10 x 0.75 in, 4.21 lb, part number LJ0SH3, "an impressive way to serve sizzling meals", seasoning with "100% vegetable oil; no synthetic coatings or chemicals" and "MADE IN THE USA" with the South Pittsburg, Tennessee foundry named. It publishes no cooktop or oven guidance and no warranty terms, and carries the same wrong spec-table model name as Lodge's other ovals. Lodge's own consumer catalog has no page for it (see lib/sources.ts: lodgeServeware).

Specs read from the product listing, on October 29, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

How to choose a cast iron fajita pan

Thermally this is the least demanding cast iron there is: the pan gets hot, food goes on, the pan travels about twelve feet. Which is exactly why the things that matter here are not the things that matter in a skillet.

1. Does the wood underliner come with it?

Start here, because it is the only part of this purchase that can genuinely go wrong. A pan hot enough to sizzle is hot enough to scorch a table, melt a placemat and burn a hand that reaches for it. The wood underliner is not decoration; it is the reason the pan can be set down at all. Lodge’s own description of its bundled set puts it plainly: “Wood underline protects tables and countertops.”

Of the six platters here, three ship with a base and three do not. The Lodge Chef’s Platter Set includes its underliner. The DVK comes with a wooden tray. The ZURRITO four-place set comes with four trays, four handle covers and four saucers. The two single Lodge ovals and the 13-inch Lodge platter come as bare iron, and Lodge’s matching oval underliner (part UOPB) is a separate purchase at a price that, on the day of writing, sat above the pan’s. If you already own a thick wooden board or a trivet you are happy to put a 500°F pan on, buy the bare iron. If you do not, buy the set — it is the same logic that puts a press-and-comal bundle above two cheaper presses on our cast iron tortilla press roundup: the headline object is only half the equipment.

2. Handle, no handle, or removable handle

This decides whether you have bought a pan or a plate, and the three answers are genuinely different products.

A fixed long handle (Lodge LOS3) means you can preheat it on a burner, cook in it and lift it off with a mitt. It also means the handle is as hot as the pan and sticks out over the table. No handle(Lodge LOSH3, LJ0SH3) means it stacks and stores beautifully and there is no safe way to move it hot without a gripper or the underliner it sits in — Lodge’s own stated reason for the handleless version is to “eliminate storage issues”, which tells you where its priorities are. A removable handle (DVK) is the clever answer: the handle screws on for cooking and comes off for serving, so the pan behaves like a skillet on the hob and a platter at the table.

Whichever you pick, a silicone or fabric handle cover is not optional on a handled pan. The ZURRITO set includes four; Lodge sells its handle holders separately and we cover them on our cast iron accessories page.

3. Published weight, because the sizzle is stored heat

The entire theatre of this category is thermal mass. The food keeps cooking in front of the diner because the iron is still giving heat back, and that is a function of how much iron there is. The published figures here are the most useful numbers in the category, and they spread wider than you would expect across pans of almost the same footprint.

PlatterPublished sizePublished weightBase in the box?
Lodge Oval Fajita Pan (LOS3)10 x 7.5 in3.56 lbNo
Lodge Chef’s Platter Set (LSC3SET)13.75 x 9.75 in4.5 lb for the 3-piece setYes, wood underliner
DVK 9-inch9 x 5.12 inNot publishedYes, wooden tray
ZURRITO 4-place setNot published per plate7 lb for all four settingsYes, four trays
Lodge Handleless Server (LOSH3)10 x 7.5 in2.67 lbNo
Lodge Oval Griddle (LJ0SH3)13.375 x 10 in4.21 lbNo

Two things fall out of that table. First, Lodge’s handled fajita pan is nearly a pound heavier than its handleless server at the same 10 x 7.5 inches — some of that is the handle itself, but it also means the handled pan carries more stored heat to the table. Second, the two picks whose selling point is the complete package are the two that publish the least: DVK publishes no weight at all, and ZURRITO publishes a carton weight for four settings and no per-plate dimension. In a category sold entirely on heat retention, an unpublished weight is a real gap, not a formality.

4. Size, measured against one plate of food

The category standard is a 10 x 7.5-inch oval, and it is the right size for one generous serving: a fajita portion with its onions and peppers, or a single steak with room to spoon butter over it. Below that, the 9-inch DVK and the plates in the multi-packs are single-portion platters — right for a steakhouse-style place setting, tight for a full fajita mix. Above it, Lodge’s 13.375 x 10-inch oval is a genuine shared platter that will take a sliced flank steak for the table, and at a published 4.21 pounds with no handle it is also the one most likely to need two hands and a serious base.

One sizing trap worth naming: the Lodge fajita pan’s own spec table lists a length of 15.12 inches against a stated cooking size of 10 x 7.5 inches. That larger figure is the handle and packaging, not the cooking surface, and it is the same kind of rim-versus-floor confusion we untangle on our cast iron skillet size guide. Buy on the stated cooking size.

5. Documentation, and who will stand behind it

Lodge is the only brand here that publishes anything verifiable, and even that comes with a caveat worth stating. Its handleless server and 13.375-inch oval listings both say “MADE IN THE USA” and name the South Pittsburg, Tennessee foundry where Lodge has cast iron since 1896. The Chef’s Platter Set says “Made in U.S.A”. The handled fajita pan — the pan most people in this category buy — states no country of manufacture at all, though it does carry a “Lifetime” warranty and the only cooktop list in the category: oven, stove, grill, campfire and “also great with induction cooktops”.

None of these Lodge ovals appears in Lodge’s own consumer catalog. Its serveware collection carries heat-treated mini servers, a mini kettle, commemorative skillets and the care range — and no oval fajita pan, no oval serving griddle and no wood underliner. They are Lodge foodservice parts, which is why they have restaurant-supply part numbers and why no maker page publishes their specifications. Every figure on this page is therefore attributed to the listing it was read from, never to Lodge. The three non-Lodge picks publish no origin at all, and DVK claims a “lifetime warranty” with no terms anywhere and no reachable maker page.

Using one properly

A fajita pan is used harder and for a shorter time than any other cast iron you own, and the technique is almost entirely about heat.

Preheat it empty and dry, longer than feels sensible. The sizzle is the pan giving stored heat to moisture, so a pan that goes to the table at 300°F does nothing. Five to eight minutes over medium-high on a handled pan gets you there; our guide to how long to preheat cast iron explains why the edges lie to you about when it is ready. Handleless servers are easier to preheat in the oven or under a broiler, which is also how restaurants do it.

Cook the food somewhere else, mostly. On a 10 x 7.5-inch oval there is no room to sear and no room to move anything, so the honest workflow is to cook in a proper cast iron skillet for steak or a cast iron grill pan, then transfer onto the screaming-hot platter with a splash of its own juices at the table. That is what produces the noise. The exception is the handled Lodge pan and the removable-handle DVK, which have enough handle to actually cook a single portion in.

Set it on the underliner before you load it, not after. And keep the base dry. Wood plus repeated thermal shock plus spilled fat is how underliners split, which is the single most common failure in this category and the reason restaurant versions are an inch of solid hardwood.

Care is ordinary cast iron care. Hand wash, dry properly, wipe with a thin film of oil — Lodge’s own instruction on the fajita pan is exactly that: “hand wash, dry, rub with cooking oil”. One point specific to these pans: they see fat, acid and citrus in short bursts at very high heat, which strips seasoning faster than everyday cooking does, so expect to re-season a fajita platter more often than a skillet. Our guide to seasoning cast iron covers the oven method, and the ZURRITO set’s own listing already tells you to do it: “pre-seasoned and ready to use — but for optimal performance and longevity, we recommend seasoning again before first use.”

What we left off

Lodge’s wood underliners on their own. They are real, live products (the walnut-stained UOPB fits both 10-inch ovals) and they are the right companion purchase for the bare Lodge pans. We have not ranked them as picks because an underliner is a piece of wood, not cast iron, and there is nothing to compare it on beyond fit. Just know the price before you buy a bare pan: the underliner is the dearer half of that pair.

The bundled Lodge Fajita Set (LFSR3). This is the product most people actually want — oval griddle, red-stained wooden underliner and a chili-pepper handle holder in one box. We could not verify it as live and buyable on the visit date: the retail listings we found were showing sold out or were third-party resales, and it is not in Lodge’s consumer catalog either. The Chef’s Platter Set is the bundled Lodge option we could verify, so that is the one ranked.

Six and eight-plate restaurant sets. Several are live and in stock, and they are good value per setting if you genuinely serve six people this way. They publish even less than the four-place set does — typically a carton weight and nothing else — and there was nothing to rank them on beyond count. If four is not enough, the same sellers list larger counts of the same plates.

Aluminum sizzle platters. Restaurant-supply channels sell a lot of them, and they are lighter and cheaper. They also store a fraction of the heat, which is the only reason this product exists. We ran into the same mislabeling problem in cast iron waffle makers, so the rule is the same: read the material line, and check the weight against the size.

So which one should you buy?

If you want one platter and you already own something safe to set it on: the Lodge Oval Fajita Pan, for the handle, the published weight and the lifetime warranty. If you want one purchase that is finished when it arrives: the Lodge Chef’s Platter Set for American iron on a wooden base, or the DVK if the removable handle appeals more than the origin statement. For a table of four all getting their own plate: the ZURRITO set, by a distance, on price per setting. For the cheapest documented American iron on the page: the Lodge handleless server, accepting that you move it on its base. And for one big sizzling platter the whole table eats from: the 13.375-inch Lodge oval, with two hands.

Frequently asked questions

What is a cast iron fajita pan?

A small oval cast iron griddle, usually around 10 x 7.5 inches, made to be heated hard and carried to the table still sizzling on a wooden underliner. It is a serving vessel first: the food usually finishes cooking in front of the diner from the heat stored in the iron. Lodge's handled version (LOS3) can also be cooked in like a small skillet; the handleless serving griddles (LOSH3, LJ0SH3) are really platters you move on their base.

Does a fajita pan come with the wooden base?

Often not, and that is the main thing to check. Of the six platters we verified, three ship with a base — Lodge's Chef's Platter Set, the DVK with its wooden tray, and the ZURRITO four-place set with four trays and four handle covers — and three are bare iron. Lodge's matching oval underliner is a separate part number (UOPB), and on the day we checked it was listed in a higher price bracket than the pan it fits under.

What is the difference between Lodge's oval fajita pan and its oval serving griddle?

The handle. The Oval Fajita Pan (LOS3) has Lodge's signature long handle and a published weight of 3.56 lb; the Handleless Oval Serving Griddle (LOSH3) is the same 10 x 7.5-inch oval with no handle at 2.67 lb, which Lodge offers to eliminate storage issues. The handled one can be preheated on a burner and lifted off; the handleless one has to be moved with a gripper or on its underliner. Both listings carry the same wrong spec-table model name, 'Lodge Cast Iron Rectangular Griddle', so you cannot tell them apart from the specs.

How hot should a fajita pan be?

Hot enough that it is still cooking when it reaches the table, which in practice means a full empty preheat of five to eight minutes over medium-high, or in the oven or under a broiler for the handleless servers. The sizzle is stored heat meeting moisture, so a pan that leaves the burner lukewarm does nothing at all. Never put a loaded pan on a wooden base afterwards — set it on the base first, then load it.

Can you cook on a cast iron fajita pan, or only serve?

Both, with limits. There is no room to sear properly on a 10 x 7.5-inch oval, so the usual approach is to cook in a full-size skillet or grill pan and transfer onto the hot platter with some of the juices. The handled Lodge pan and the removable-handle DVK have enough handle to cook a single portion directly, and Lodge's listing states the pan is at home in the oven, on the stove, on the grill or over a campfire and works on induction.

Are cast iron fajita pans made in the USA?

Some of Lodge's are, by its own listings. The handleless oval serving griddle and the 13.375-inch oval both state 'MADE IN THE USA' and name Lodge's South Pittsburg, Tennessee foundry, and the Chef's Platter Set says 'Made in U.S.A'. The handled oval fajita pan, oddly, states no country of manufacture at all. The three non-Lodge platters we verified publish no origin. None of these Lodge ovals is in Lodge's consumer catalog — they are foodservice part numbers — so no maker page publishes their specifications.

How do you clean a cast iron sizzle platter?

Like any bare cast iron: hand wash, dry it thoroughly, wipe a thin film of oil over the cooking surface. Lodge's own instruction on the fajita pan is 'hand wash, dry, rub with cooking oil'. Expect to re-season a fajita platter more often than a skillet, because it takes fat, citrus and acid at extreme heat in short bursts, which is harder on seasoning than everyday cooking. Keep the wooden underliner dry and out of the sink entirely.

Sources

  • Lodge — Serveware collection — Lodge's own consumer serveware catalog, cited here for what is absent from it. The collection lists 26 items — heat-treated mini servers in round, oval, square and rectangular shapes (9-16 oz), a mini kettle, commemorative skillets, display and storage racks and the care range — and contains NO oval fajita pan, NO oval serving griddle and NO wood underliner. Searches for those products on lodgecastiron.com return 404. They are Lodge foodservice SKUs (LOS3 handled fajita pan, LOSH3 handleless serving griddle, LJ0SH3 13.375-inch oval griddle, LSC3SET Chef's Platter Set, UOPB walnut underliner) sold through restaurant-supply and marketplace channels rather than Lodge's consumer store, which is why no maker page publishes their specifications. Every dimension, weight and part number this site states for them is therefore attributed to the specific Amazon listing it was read from, never to Lodge (accessed October 29, 2026)
  • Lodge Cast Iron — Cleaning & Care — Lodge's official use & care guidance (a little soap is fine; dry and oil) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • Lodge Cast Iron — How to Season — Lodge's official seasoning method — wash, thin oil, bake hot to polymerize (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • Lodge Cast Iron — Classic Cast Iron Skillets — Lodge's own listing for the classic skillet line, with a per-size spec table: 6.5 in 1.94 lb, 8 in 3.44 lb, 10.25 in 5.66 lb, 12 in 7.69 lb, 13.25 in 10.5 lb, 15 in 12.3 lb. States the line is compatible with any stovetop including induction, plus oven, grill or campfire; seasoned with 100% natural vegetable oil; made in the USA. No oven temperature ceiling is published for bare iron (accessed September 18, 2026)

Keep reading