The Seasoned Pan

The Best Cast Iron Loaf Pans

Cast iron loaf and bread pans ranked on the two things that decide them: published capacity, and whether the pan has a lid. One bakes banana bread, the other bakes sourdough, and most roundups never separate the two.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

For most people the answer is Lodge’s Seasoned Cast Iron Standard Loaf Pan. It is a 6-cup American-made pan at about the price of a supermarket nonstick tin, and Lodge publishes the whole spec: 12.0 inches long, 4.69 wide, 3.68 high, 3.68 lb, with dual loop handles instead of one long one. Bake a banana bread in it, bake a meatloaf in it, hand it to your grandchildren.

But there is a fork in this category that almost nothing written about it acknowledges, and getting it wrong is the main way people waste money here. A cast iron loaf pan and a cast iron bread pan are two different objects.An open pan is a tin that happens to be iron: it bakes batter — quick breads, sandwich loaves, meatloaf. A liddedpan is a small Dutch oven in a loaf shape: the lid traps the dough’s own steam for the first part of the bake, which is the only reason a lean sourdough gets oven spring and a blistered crust. Buy an open pan for sourdough and you will get a flat, pale brick, and the pan will not be at fault.

So this page ranks both, and says plainly which one each pick is. One scope note: if the loaf you want is a roundboule, you want a pot rather than a pan — that is the best Dutch ovens for sourdough. Molded cornbread shapes are on the cornbread pan roundup, and round skillet baking is on the baking skillet roundup. We have not hands-on tested this cookware; here is exactly what we do instead.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on materials, size, finish and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not hands-on tested these pans — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Lodge Seasoned Cast Iron Standard Loaf Pan (BW8LP)

Lodge Seasoned Cast Iron Standard Loaf Pan (BW8LP)

The default cast iron loaf pan, and the one most people should buy: a 6-cup American-made pan at the price of a supermarket nonstick tin, with two loop handles instead of a single long one so it actually fits an oven alongside something else.

Best overall
$19.90 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Lodge Seasoned Cast Iron Large Loaf Pan (BW10LP)

Lodge Seasoned Cast Iron Large Loaf Pan (BW10LP)

Half again the capacity of the standard pan for under two extra pounds — the right pan if your loaf recipe is a 9-cup one, or if you have ever watched banana bread climb over the rim of a smaller tin.

Best for a bigger loaf
$29.90 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Northriver Casting 9 x 5 in Cast Iron Loaf Pan with Lid (2-piece)

Northriver Casting 9 x 5 in Cast Iron Loaf Pan with Lid (2-piece)

The cheapest honest way to bake a lidded sourdough loaf in cast iron: two identical 9x5 pans that each bake on their own, or nest to make a covered vessel that traps the dough's steam the way a Dutch oven does.

Best lidded pan for sourdough
$29.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Articasting 11 x 5 in Cast Iron Loaf Pan with Lid (5.8 qt)

Articasting 11 x 5 in Cast Iron Loaf Pan with Lid (5.8 qt)

The lidded pan to buy if your loaf is a long one — two inches more length than the 9x5 pans, which is the difference between a batard lying flat and a batard baked into a bend.

Best for long batards
$35.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Challenger Breadware Cast Iron Bread Pan

Challenger Breadware Cast Iron Bread Pan

A cast iron vessel designed for one job — baking artisan sourdough — with a wide, low base you load without contortion and a tall lid that clears a big oven-spring. Expensive and single-purpose, but serious bakers rate it highly.

Best for serious bakers
$299.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Lodge Cast Iron Combo Cooker (3.2 qt)

Lodge Cast Iron Combo Cooker (3.2 qt)

The bread-baker's secret: a deep pot plus a 10.25-inch skillet lid, used upside down so you bake the loaf on the shallow skillet and cover it with the deep pot. Easy to load, easy to score, and cheap. The single best-value sourdough vessel.

Best cheap lidded alternative
$59.90 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Lodge Seasoned Cast Iron Standard Loaf Pan (BW8LP)

The default cast iron loaf pan, and the one most people should buy: a 6-cup American-made pan at the price of a supermarket nonstick tin, with two loop handles instead of a single long one so it actually fits an oven alongside something else.

Strengths

  • Lodge publishes the full spec — 12.0 x 4.69 x 3.68 in, 3.68 lb, 6 cup capacity
  • Made in the USA and seasoned with 100% natural vegetable oil, straight from the foundry
  • Dual loop handles, which is what keeps a 12-inch pan to 12 inches

Trade-offs

  • Lodge states "Not intended for stovetop use", so no burner preheat
  • 6 cups is a standard loaf and no more — a big sourdough boule will not fit
  • Bare iron, so sugar-heavy batters need real greasing until seasoning builds
TypeBare cast iron
Size6 cup, 8.5 x 4.5 in
Pre-seasonedYes
Induction-safeNot published
Made inUSA
Best forBanana bread, meatloaf and a standard sandwich loaf

The details. Lodge's own page (part BW8LP, $24.95 list) publishes 12.0 in long, 4.69 in wide, 3.68 in high and 3.68 lb, with a 6 cup capacity, US manufacture, seasoning with 100% natural vegetable oil, dual handles, no PFAS and the explicit feature line "Not intended for stovetop use". Care is "Hand wash, dry, oil." The page carries a California AB 1200 disclosure and the Lodge Made Right Warranty. Amazon's listing titles the same part "8.5 Inches" and its spec table says 8.5 x 4.5 in with 2.88 in of height and 3.78 lb — a different height and weight from Lodge's own figures, so both readings are recorded. Lodge publishes no oven temperature ceiling and no cooktop list for it at all.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 15, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best for a bigger loaf

Lodge Seasoned Cast Iron Large Loaf Pan (BW10LP)

Half again the capacity of the standard pan for under two extra pounds — the right pan if your loaf recipe is a 9-cup one, or if you have ever watched banana bread climb over the rim of a smaller tin.

Strengths

  • 9 cup capacity against 6 for the standard pan, for 1.92 lb more by Lodge's figures
  • Still made in the USA, pre-seasoned and PFAS-free, with the Made Right warranty
  • 13.53 in overall is short enough to turn in a normal oven

Trade-offs

  • Also "Not intended for stovetop use" per Lodge's own feature list
  • Amazon's spec table claims 13.3 lb where Lodge publishes 5.6 lb — a listing error, but check what arrives
  • Overkill for a single small quick bread, which will bake flat and pale in it
TypeBare cast iron
Size9 cup, 10 in
Pre-seasonedYes
Induction-safeNot published
Made inUSA
Best forBigger loaves, and recipes written for a 9x5 tin

The details. Lodge's own page (part BW10LP, $29.90 sale against a $34.95 regular price) publishes 13.53 in long, 5.37 in wide, 3.13 in high and 5.6 lb, with a 9 cup capacity, US manufacture, 100% natural vegetable oil seasoning, dual handles, no PFAS and "Not intended for stovetop use". Care is "Hand wash, dry, oil." Two published figures are reproduced rather than reconciled: Lodge lists this LARGER pan as 3.13 in high where the standard pan is 3.68 in, which cannot both be the same measurement; and Amazon's spec table for the same part gives 13.3 lb against Lodge's 5.6 lb.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 15, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best lidded pan for sourdough

Northriver Casting 9 x 5 in Cast Iron Loaf Pan with Lid (2-piece)

The cheapest honest way to bake a lidded sourdough loaf in cast iron: two identical 9x5 pans that each bake on their own, or nest to make a covered vessel that traps the dough's steam the way a Dutch oven does.

Strengths

  • Two pans in the box, so one lidded vessel or two loaves at once
  • Listing states it suits any cooktop, oven, electric stove, induction or campfire
  • Designed to stack, which matters for a shape that wastes cupboard space

Trade-offs

  • Northriver publishes no spec page of its own, so every figure here is the Amazon listing's
  • The listing never says pre-seasoned, so assume you season it before first use
  • The 10 lb listed weight covers both pieces, and a two-piece pan is heavy to handle hot
TypeBare cast iron
Size9 x 5 in, 2-piece
Pre-seasonedNot published
Induction-safeYes
Made inNot published
Best forSourdough sandwich loaves on a budget

The details. Specs here come from the Amazon listing's own feature bullets and spec table, read 2026-10-15, because no reachable Northriver Casting product page exists: size "9x5 inch", 9.1 in long, 5 in wide, 2.75 in high, 10 lb for the 2-piece set, black, 2 items. The listing states the set is "fully made of high grade cast iron", that it "is suitable for all kitchen cooktops, oven, electric stove, blackstone, induction cooktops or campfire", and that the two pans "can be used separately as bread loaf pans for homemade bread, or as each other's lids when you need a perfect crisp crust, just like a dutch oven". Care per the listing: "After every use, washing by hand, drying with low fire and seasoned with cooking oils. Do not put in dishwasher and do not air dry." Nothing on the listing states pre-seasoning or country of manufacture, so both stay unpublished.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 15, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best for long batards

Articasting 11 x 5 in Cast Iron Loaf Pan with Lid (5.8 qt)

The lidded pan to buy if your loaf is a long one — two inches more length than the 9x5 pans, which is the difference between a batard lying flat and a batard baked into a bend.

Strengths

  • 11 x 5 in and 5.8 qt, the longest lidded loaf pan we found in stock
  • Listing states the pan is pre-seasoned, unlike several rivals at this price
  • Lid traps the loaf's own steam, so you get oven spring without a Dutch oven

Trade-offs

  • Articasting publishes no spec page, so the figures are the listing's own and nothing is maker-confirmed
  • The listing's 13.3 lb is a lot of iron to lift out of a hot oven two-handed
  • No published oven rating, cooktop list, care instruction or country of manufacture
TypeBare cast iron
Size11 x 5 in, 5.8 qt
Pre-seasonedYes
Induction-safeNot published
Made inNot published
Best forLong batards and oversized loaves, with a lid

The details. Everything here is from the Amazon listing, read 2026-10-15, because no reachable Articasting maker page exists: title "Articasting Cast Iron Loaf Pan with Lid, 11x5 Inch 5.8 Qt Pre-Seasoned Pan", model "Bread Pan1", size "11x5 Inch", 14.4 in long, 5.8 in wide, 6.9 in high and 13.3 lb in the listing's spec table, black, one item. The listing describes a "2-In-1 Design" where the lid "effectively seals in moisture and heat". The remaining feature bullets are marketing copy with no numbers in them, and the listing publishes no oven ceiling, no cooktop list, no care instruction and no country of manufacture, so all four stay Not published rather than being inferred from the fact that it is cast iron.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 15, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best for serious bakers

Challenger Breadware Cast Iron Bread Pan

A cast iron vessel designed for one job — baking artisan sourdough — with a wide, low base you load without contortion and a tall lid that clears a big oven-spring. Expensive and single-purpose, but serious bakers rate it highly.

Strengths

  • Wide, low base makes loading and scoring genuinely easy
  • Tall domed lid leaves room for a big oven-spring
  • Handles two loaves' worth of shape (round or batard) unlike round pots

Trade-offs

  • Expensive and does exactly one thing
  • Big and heavy to store
TypeBare cast iron
SizeBread pan
Pre-seasonedYes
Induction-safeYes
Made inUSA
Best forDedicated sourdough bakers who bake often

The details. A purpose-built bread baker: a shallow base for easy loading and scoring, and a tall lid for oven-spring, sized for round or oblong loaves. Pre-seasoned bare cast iron; keep it dry and oiled between bakes.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#6Best cheap lidded alternative

Lodge Cast Iron Combo Cooker (3.2 qt)

The bread-baker's secret: a deep pot plus a 10.25-inch skillet lid, used upside down so you bake the loaf on the shallow skillet and cover it with the deep pot. Easy to load, easy to score, and cheap. The single best-value sourdough vessel.

Strengths

  • Skillet-as-base makes loading and scoring a loaf effortless
  • Two useful pans for the price of one cheap skillet
  • American-made bare cast iron

Trade-offs

  • At 3.2 qt / 10.25" it suits round boules, not long loaves
  • Bare cast iron needs drying and oiling after washing
TypeBare cast iron
Size3.2 qt
Pre-seasonedYes
Induction-safeYes
Made inUSA
Best forSourdough and no-knead bread on a budget

The details. A deep pot plus a 10.25" skillet lid. Bakers invert it — loaf on the shallow skillet, deep pot as the dome — so loading and scoring are easy. Pre-seasoned bare cast iron; standard wash-dry-oil care.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

How we chose a cast iron loaf pan

1. Lid or no lid — this decides everything else

Bread dough needs two different climates in sequence. For the first part of the bake it needs humidity, so the skin stays soft and elastic long enough for the loaf to expand; a lid does that by trapping the steam the dough itself gives off. For the second part it needs dry radiant heat to set and color the crust, which is why bakers take the lid off part-way. An open pan can only ever give you the second phase.

This is not a subtlety. A yeasted sandwich loaf made with milk, butter or sugar does fine in an open pan, because the enriched dough does not depend on steam. A lean sourdough in an open pan rises a little, sets early and stops. If sourdough is the reason you are buying a cast iron pan at all, buy one with a lid, and our guide to whether you need a Dutch oven for sourdough explains the same mechanism in more detail — including several ways to fake it for free with equipment you already own.

2. Published capacity, not the inches on the box

Loaf pans are the one shape where the headline number is nearly useless. “9x5” describes the rim of the pan; what your recipe cares about is volume. Lodge is unusually straight about this and publishes capacity in cups: 6 cups for the standard pan and 9 cups for the large one. Almost every American loaf recipe is written for an 8.5x4.5 or a 9x5 tin, which land in that range.

The practical test is batter height. Fill a loaf pan much past two thirds and you get the classic overflow-and-crater, because iron keeps feeding heat into the batter long after a thin tin would have given up. So if you are between sizes, the honest advice is to size for the recipe you actually bake most, not for the biggest loaf you can imagine.

3. What the maker publishes at all

This is the criterion that reorders the page, and the reason two American-made pans at under $30 outrank lidded pans that would be more fun to own. Lodge publishes dimensions, weight, capacity, country of manufacture, care instructions, a PFAS statement and a warranty for both of its loaf pans. The lidded pans in this roundup come from brands with no reachable product page of their own, so every figure we print for them is the Amazon listing’s figure — and where the listing is silent, our spec table says “Not published” rather than filling in something plausible.

That matters more than it sounds for cast iron, because the facts you actually need are maker facts. Is it pre-seasoned? Is it rated for a burner? What happens if it cracks? Northriver’s listing never says pre-seasoned, which is why ours says it is not published and why we would season it before first use. Articasting’s listing says pre-seasoned and publishes nothing else useful.

4. The spec nobody checks: stovetop clearance

Both Lodge loaf pans carry the same line in Lodge’s own feature list: “Not intended for stovetop use”. That is a real restriction and not boilerplate. It rules out the hot-pan trick that makes skillet cornbread work, it rules out starting a meatloaf with a sear, and it means the pan only ever heats in an oven. Lodge publishes the same warning across several of its bakeware pieces and we flag it on every page where it changes a method, such as the baking skillet roundup.

Lodge publishes no oven temperature ceiling for bare cast iron anywhere we have read, so we never quote one — with bare iron your limits are the oven and the smoke point of whatever you greased it with. Enamel is the finish that does carry numbers, and none of the picks here is enameled.

The two Lodge pans, side by side

These are the only pans in the category where one maker publishes the same spec sheet for two sizes, which makes it the cleanest comparison available. Every figure below is Lodge’s own.

Published specStandard (BW8LP)Large (BW10LP)
Capacity6 cup9 cup
Length12.0 in13.53 in
Width4.69 in5.37 in
Height3.68 in3.13 in
Weight3.68 lb5.6 lb
List price$24.95$34.95 ($29.90 sale)
Made inUSAUSA
StovetopNot intended for stovetop useNot intended for stovetop use
Oven ceilingNot publishedNot published
CareHand wash, dry, oilHand wash, dry, oil

Two things in that table are worth saying out loud rather than tidying up. The first is that the larger pan is published as shorter— 3.13 inches high against 3.68 for the standard pan — which cannot be the same measurement in both rows. We reproduce both as published rather than guessing which one includes the handles. The second is that 50% more capacity costs 1.92 lb and about $5 to $10, which is a small enough gap that the decision really is just “which size does your recipe want”.

One listing error to be aware of if you buy the large pan on Amazon: the spec table there says 13.3 lb where Lodge publishes 5.6 lb. Lodge is the maker and the figure that fits the pan; we record Amazon’s number only so you are not alarmed by it.

Why a loaf shape at all, when you own a skillet

This is the fair challenge to the whole category, and it deserves a straight answer: for most of what people bake in cast iron, a skillet is better. It is more versatile, it goes on a burner, and a round pan of cornbread or cobbler is easier to serve from.

A loaf pan earns its place in three situations and we would not buy one outside them. Recipes written for a tin. Banana bread, zucchini bread, pound cake, pumpkin loaf and most quick breads are volume-specific and sliceable, and they want tall straight walls. Meatloaf. The shape is in the name; the iron browns the outside in a way a glass dish does not; and the walls hold the fat rather than letting it run out across a sheet pan. Sandwich bread. A square-ish slice needs a square-ish pan, which no skillet will ever give you.

What iron adds over a thin tin is heat retention and durability. The heat retention gives a darker, firmer side crust — genuinely better on a savory quick bread, and arguably worse on a delicate cake, which can set its edges before the middle rises. The durability is the part that is simply true: Lodge’s own copy for the line says cast iron bakeware “won’t dent, bend, or warp at high temperatures”, and anyone who has watched a thin aluminized tin buckle in a hot oven knows the difference. For the broader is-it-worth-it question, see is cast iron worth it.

The picks in context

Lodge Standard Loaf Pan — the best overall

Part BW8LP, $24.95 at list. Six cups, 12.0 x 4.69 x 3.68 inches, 3.68 lb, made in the USA, seasoned with 100% natural vegetable oil, made without PFAS, dual loop handles, and covered by Lodge’s Made Right warranty. For the recipes most people bake in a loaf pan, there is no argument to be had: it is the cheapest pan here, the only one at this price with a maker standing behind it, and the lightest to lift out of the oven full.

Three honest limits. Lodge states it is not intended for stovetop use, so there is no burner preheat and no searing. Six cups is a standard loaf and nothing larger. And it is bare iron, which means sugar-heavy batters need real greasing — butter or shortening up the walls, not a wipe of oil — until the seasoning has built up. Our sticky-pan guide covers the residue that sweet batters leave behind.

Lodge Large Loaf Pan — the best for a bigger loaf

Part BW10LP. Nine cups, 13.53 x 5.37 x 3.13 inches and 5.6 lb by Lodge’s figures, with the same American manufacture, pre-seasoning, PFAS statement and warranty. This is the pan to buy if your recipe is a 9x5 one, or if you have ever had batter climb out of a smaller tin. Thirteen and a half inches is still short enough to turn in a normal oven.

The same “not intended for stovetop use” applies. Two extra pounds is noticeable when the pan comes out hot and two-handed. And it is genuinely the wrong pan for one small quick bread, which will spread out and bake flatter and paler than it should.

Northriver Casting 9x5 with lid — the best lidded pan for sourdough

The cheapest honest route into lidded cast iron bread baking. You get two identical 9x5 pans; use them separately as two loaf pans, or nest one on the other to make a covered vessel — which is the same trick bakers play with Lodge’s Combo Cooker, in a loaf shape instead of a round one. The listing states the set is “fully made of high grade cast iron” and suits any cooktop, oven, electric stove, induction or campfire, and that the two pans are designed to stack for storage.

Three things we will not dress up. Northriver publishes no spec page of its own, so the 9.1 x 5 x 2.75 inch dimensions and the 10 lb set weight are the Amazon listing’s figures and nobody else’s. The listing never claims pre-seasoning, so plan to season it yourself before the first bake — our seasoning guidefollows Lodge’s published method. And the care line on the listing is emphatic in a way that is worth repeating: hand wash, dry on low heat, oil it, no dishwasher, no air drying.

Articasting 11x5 with lid — the best for long batards

Two extra inches of length, which is the difference between a batard lying flat and a batard baked into a bend. The listing gives 11x5 inches and 5.8 quarts, a 2-in-1 lidded design, and states the pan is pre-seasoned. If the loaves you shape are long rather than square, this is the shape to look for, and there were very few of them in stock anywhere when we checked.

The documentation gap is the same as Northriver’s and we rank it fourth for exactly that reason: Articasting publishes no maker page, so there is no oven rating, no cooktop list, no care instruction and no country of manufacture — all four read “Not published” on our card rather than being inferred from the fact that it is iron. The listing’s own 13.3 lb is also a lot of pan to move in and out of a hot oven.

Challenger Bread Pan — the best for serious bakers

The one pan in the category built by a company that only makes bread equipment, and the only American-made lidded option we found. A wide, low base you can load and score without contorting your wrist, and a tall lid with room for a big oven spring — it is the vessel a lot of bakers move to after they outgrow improvising with a Dutch oven, and it takes a round boule or a batard.

It costs several times what everything else on this page costs, it does exactly one thing, and it is big and heavy to store. Those are not objections if you bake weekly; they are decisive if you bake twice a year. Compare it against the pots in our sourdough Dutch oven roundup before committing, and read Dutch oven vs bread cloche if you are weighing dedicated bread vessels generally.

Lodge Combo Cooker — the best cheap lidded alternative

Here because the most useful thing a loaf-pan roundup can tell some readers is that they do not need a loaf pan. Inverted, the Combo Cooker’s shallow 10.25-inch skillet becomes the base you load and score on and the deep pot becomes the steam dome — the same mechanism as a lidded loaf pan, for about the same money, in two pans that are both useful on their own. It is American-made bare iron and Lodge clears the line for a burner, an oven, a grill or a campfire.

The limit is shape: at 3.2 quarts and 10.25 inches round, it suits boules rather than long loaves, and it will not give you a square sandwich slice. If what you want is specifically a loaf, buy a loaf pan. If what you want is great bread, this is the better buy, and our Dutch oven bread recipe is written around it.

Baking in a cast iron loaf pan: what changes

Grease more than you would a nonstick tin, and grease the corners.A loaf pan has four inside corners and a long wall, which is a lot of surface for a sticky batter to grab. Butter or shortening works better than oil here because it stays where you put it. On a newer pan, a parchment sling across the long axis is not cheating — it is how you avoid tearing the bottom off a banana bread while the seasoning is still young.

Expect the edges to run ahead of the middle, and lower the temperature if they do. Iron delivers heat steadily and keeps delivering it after the oven goes off, so an iron loaf browns at the sides sooner than a tin loaf. If your first bake comes out dark at the walls and underdone in the center, drop the oven 25 degrees and add time rather than tenting it.

Turn it out while it is warm, not hot and not cold.Straight out of the oven, a loaf is too fragile to hold its own shape; fully cold in an iron pan, the sugars have set to the walls. Five to ten minutes on a rack, then run a thin spatula down the long sides and tip it out.

Clean it like a skillet, because it is one.Hot water, a brush or a scraper, no soak, dry on a warm burner if the pan is cleared for one — and for these Lodge pans, which are not, dry it in the cooling oven instead. Then a thin film of oil. Our cleaning guide covers the whole routine, and the accessories roundup covers the scrapers that get a corner clean without stripping the seasoning out of it.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best cast iron loaf pan?

Lodge's Seasoned Cast Iron Standard Loaf Pan (part BW8LP) for most people. Lodge publishes 6 cup capacity, 12.0 x 4.69 x 3.68 inches and 3.68 lb, US manufacture, 100% natural vegetable oil seasoning and no PFAS, at a $24.95 list price — the only pan at this price in the category with a maker publishing a full spec sheet and a warranty behind it. If you specifically want to bake sourdough, buy a lidded pan instead, because an open pan cannot trap the steam a lean dough needs.

Do you need a lid on a cast iron bread pan?

For sourdough and other lean doughs, yes. The first part of the bake needs humidity so the loaf's skin stays elastic long enough to expand, and a lid supplies it by trapping the steam the dough itself releases. Without that you get a loaf that rises a little, sets early and stays pale. For enriched doughs and quick breads — banana bread, meatloaf, a milk-and-butter sandwich loaf — a lid makes no meaningful difference and an open pan is fine.

Can you bake sourdough in a cast iron loaf pan?

Yes, if the pan has a lid, and that is the whole condition. A lidded loaf pan works exactly like a small Dutch oven: covered for the first part of the bake to trap steam, uncovered afterwards so the crust dries and colors. Several pans are sold as two identical halves that nest to make the lidded vessel. In an open loaf pan, a lean sourdough will come out flat and pale no matter how good the dough was.

What size cast iron loaf pan should I buy?

Match the capacity your recipe was written for rather than the inches on the box. Lodge publishes 6 cups for its standard pan (listed as 8.5 x 4.5 in) and 9 cups for the large one (listed as 10 in), and most American loaf recipes are written for an 8.5x4.5 or 9x5 tin, which land in that range. If you are between sizes, size down: an under-filled iron pan bakes a flatter loaf, but an over-filled one overflows, because iron keeps feeding heat into the batter after a thin tin would have stopped.

Can you use a cast iron loaf pan on the stove?

Not Lodge's, and Lodge says so in its own feature list for both sizes: "Not intended for stovetop use". That rules out preheating the pan on a burner or starting a meatloaf with a sear — the pan heats in an oven only. Some lidded pans from other brands do claim cooktop compatibility on their listings, including induction, but those brands publish no maker spec page, so treat the claim as the listing's rather than a documented rating.

Is a cast iron loaf pan better than a regular bread tin?

It is more durable and it browns the sides harder; it is heavier and slower to heat. Cast iron bakeware will not dent, bend or warp the way a thin aluminized tin does, which is the strongest practical argument for it, and the firmer side crust is genuinely better on savory quick breads and meatloaf. For a delicate cake it can be a slight disadvantage, because the edges can set before the middle has finished rising. If you bake one banana bread a year, a tin is fine.

Do you need to season a cast iron loaf pan?

Lodge's pans arrive seasoned with 100% natural vegetable oil and are ready to use. The cheaper lidded pans vary, and the honest answer is to read the listing: Northriver's, for example, never claims pre-seasoning, so we would season it before the first bake. Either way, seasoning on a loaf pan is maintained the same as on a skillet — wash, dry thoroughly, wipe on a thin film of oil — and sugary batters are the thing most likely to set it back.

How hot can a cast iron loaf pan go?

Lodge publishes no oven temperature ceiling for bare cast iron anywhere we have read, so we do not quote one — with bare iron the practical limits are your oven and the smoke point of the fat you greased it with, not the metal. The pans on this page are all bare iron, so none of them carries the 500°F rating that enameled pieces do. What does have a published ceiling is glass: Lodge rates its tempered glass lids to 400°F, which is below some bread temperatures.

Why did my bread stick to the cast iron loaf pan?

Almost always sugar plus not enough fat in the corners. A loaf pan has four inside corners and tall walls, and a sweet batter caramelizes onto bare iron harder than a savory one. Grease with butter or shortening rather than a thin film of oil, go up the walls as well as across the floor, and on a newer pan use a parchment sling along the long axis. Turning the loaf out while it is still warm — not hot, not cold — also matters, because cooled sugars set to the iron.

Sources

  • Lodge Cast Iron — Seasoned Cast Iron Standard Loaf Pan (BW8LP) — Lodge's own page for the standard loaf pan, part BW8LP, at a $24.95 list price. Features published: "6 cup capacity", "Made in the USA", "Seasoned with 100% natural vegetable oil", "Dual handles for easy maneuverability", "Cast to last for generations", "Nontoxic cookware made without PFAS" and — the line that decides how you bake in it — "Not intended for stovetop use". Dimensions published as Length 12.0 in, Width 4.69 in, Height 3.68 in, Weight 3.68 lb. Use and care is "Hand wash, dry, oil." The page carries a California AB 1200 disclosure and the Lodge Made Right Warranty. Lodge's copy for the line states that cast iron bakeware "won't dent, bend, or warp at high temperatures". Lodge publishes NO oven temperature ceiling for it and no cooktop list of any kind (accessed October 15, 2026)
  • Lodge Cast Iron — Seasoned Cast Iron Large Loaf Pan (BW10LP) — The bigger pan from the same Lodge line, part BW10LP, listed at a $29.90 sale price against a $34.95 regular price. Features published: "9 cup capacity", "Made in the USA", "Seasoned with 100% natural vegetable oil", "Dual handles for easy maneuverability", "Cast to last for generations", "Nontoxic cookware made without PFAS", "Not intended for stovetop use". Dimensions published as Length 13.53 in, Width 5.37 in, Height 3.13 in, Weight 5.6 lb. Care is "Hand wash, dry, oil." Read against the standard pan from the same page template, this is the whole size question in two spec sheets: 50% more capacity for 1.92 lb and 1.53 in of extra length. NOTE one published oddity recorded rather than reconciled — Lodge lists the LARGER pan as 3.13 in high and the smaller one as 3.68 in, which cannot both be describing the same measurement, so both figures are reproduced as published (accessed October 15, 2026)
  • Lodge Cast Iron — Bakeware collection — Lodge's own bakeware index, used to enumerate the shapes the company currently sells for cornbread and quick breads: wedge pan, cornstick pan, muffin pan, mini cake pan, baker's skillet, loaf pan, large loaf pan, pie pan, baking pan and the novelty cactus, pineapple and wreath pans (accessed September 24, 2026)
  • Lodge Cast Iron — Cast Iron Combo Cooker — Lodge's own page for the 3.2-quart Combo Cooker: published weight 12.85 lb, 16.56 x 10.5 x 4.56 in for the deep pot plus skillet lid (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Challenger Breadware — The Challenger Bread Pan — Purpose-built cast iron bread pan: shallow base for loading and scoring, tall domed lid, published weights and dimensions (accessed August 18, 2026)
  • Lodge Cast Iron — Cleaning & Care — Lodge's official use & care guidance (a little soap is fine; dry and oil) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • Lodge Cast Iron — How to Season — Lodge's official seasoning method — wash, thin oil, bake hot to polymerize (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • Lodge Cast Iron — Round Glass Lid — Lodge's own page for its tempered glass lids, in 8 in, 10.25 in, 12 in and 15 in. The 10.25-inch lid (part GL10) publishes 10.43 x 10.43 x 2.62 in and 1.56 lb against a $21.95 regular price, and the feature list states "Compatible with Lodge 10.25 inch round skillets and pans", "Oven safe up to 400˚F", tempered glass with a silicone knob, dishwasher safe, and made in China. The 400°F ceiling is the only published oven temperature on any Lodge lid (accessed October 1, 2026)
  • America's Test Kitchen — How to Clean and Season a Cast-Iron Pan — Test-kitchen guidance: thin oil, matte-not-shiny seasoning, everyday cleaning (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading